PDA

View Full Version : sizer ?

bisley45
01-07-2006, 10:04 AM
I am new at this casting thing and was woundering with a lee sizer how do you get the lube in the bullet I know that you yous the lee lube but is that all you have to do the bullet in ? is a lee 452-255-RF not one of the tumble type bullets

SharpsShooter
01-07-2006, 10:38 AM
You could pan lube them and then run them through the Lee.

bisley45
01-07-2006, 10:47 AM
what is pan lube ?

SharpsShooter
01-07-2006, 11:04 AM
You use your chioce of boolit lube. Place the boolits in a pan on their base, then pour melted lube into the pan until the level reaches the top lube groove. After it cools, use a unsized case to cookie cut the boolits free of the lube. Then run them through the Lee sizer to finish. Note that you do have to drill a hole in the head end of the unsized case to allow you to push the boolit out after it is free of the lube.

versifier
01-07-2006, 02:11 PM
Liquid Alox works fine with non-tumble lube bullets. Testing determines if it is the best alternative for the individual firearm. There are other variables that can cause barrel leading: bullet diameter, alloy used, gas check, chamber pressure. The fun is in the experimenting to come up with a combination that works for your gun. :castmine:

bisley45
01-07-2006, 08:19 PM
thanks guys

357tex
01-07-2006, 08:51 PM
Bisley 45
To pan lube I use a mint tin to stand the bullets in &cut the head off a fired unsized case.That way they stack up in side and come out the top. Liquid Alox does work well on most pistol bullets and some rifle bullets.I use lots of it in rifles. :lovebooli Also I set the tin of lube under my desk lamp to melt.its slow but as I sit in and work ,I can change them out ever 15 min or so.

Buckshot
01-08-2006, 08:20 AM