PDA

View Full Version : Magma boolit feeder

ddeaton
01-05-2009, 10:53 PM
I took my boolit feeder off my Star Magma today and bout threw it against the wall. I am going to do without it for a while till I get used to sizing with this. I see things that need to be changed with it. While being new at this I am not new at working on machines. Thats what I do for a living, rebuilding old and building new machines. The plate that the boolit feed slides on top of, and sits over the die, is too thin. The die top head is a tad thicker than the plate, therefore sticks above the plate by that much. The boolit has to hit this and jump over it every throw as it slides over the die. Either need to turn the thickness of the die head down, or space the boolit feed plate up a little. Also, the whole assembly just seems to clutter up the sizer. It makes it a pain if adjustments are needed. I can almost feed as fast without it, granted I am sizing 45's now, and are easy to handle. My tip to anyone getting started with a new Magma, would be to start with the basics and add the whistles and bells on after initial setup. Just my 2 cents, and I am new at this, so dont know what I am talking about. I feel better now.

klw
01-06-2009, 01:16 AM
Used my magma bullet feeder for about a week. Sold it. Just more trouble then it was worth.

cajun shooter
01-06-2009, 10:22 AM
Ddeaton, Your problems are why I didn't buy one. My before buy research came up with that and other things. Almost all negatives were that you could load bullets by hand almost as fast. Some people say that they had one or more fingers cut by not having it. Slow down and that problem goes away. For the home caster, it's not needed.

Willbird
01-06-2009, 12:07 PM