PDA

View Full Version : first time casting ?

rfg
01-04-2009, 06:15 PM
this is my first time casting bullets. i tried useing a poor boy set up to melt the lead (8" cast iron skillet on a elec. hot plate). i don't have a themometer to test how hot the melt is, i belive that may be most of my problems.

i'm useing a new 9 mm/ 124gr. lee double cavity mould (tl 356-124-2r) lightly sprayed with drop out. useing a lee dipper and w.w.

i'm having trouble getting constant cavity fill out. the cavity closest to the hinge make a complete bullet about 50 % of the time, the other about 90%. i guessed that the temp. might be too low causing that.

the bullets that i measuerd vary in size form .3545 to .3575 (too small to just about right, my barrel sluged .355). could temp variations cause size variations?

thanks for your input

snuffy
01-04-2009, 06:55 PM
First, welcome to cast BOOLITS!
Second, I suspect you are right about too low a temperature on your boolits. That hot plate probably doesn't have the capacity to keep the lead hot enough. Not having a thermometer, you're just guessing.

If you are always going to ladle cast, then a simple electric melter would be something to look at. Lee makes 2, one is small, holds about 5 pounds, the other holds 20 pounds.

http://www.leeprecision.com/cgi/catalog/browse.cgi?1231032920.4925=/html/catalog/melters.html

http://www.midwayusa.com/eproductpage.exe/showproduct?saleitemid=709235

Then get yourself one of these thermometers, you'll be good to go.

http://www.midwayusa.com/eproductpage.exe/showproduct?saleitemid=595204

runfiverun
01-04-2009, 07:02 PM
put your lee mold in the pot till it gets hot and try again and go a bit faster. keep the lead and mold hot.
i hope you cleaned your mold.

DLCTEX
01-04-2009, 07:10 PM