PDA

View Full Version : Cleaning Katrina damaged/rusted guns

Blackwater
01-04-2006, 01:54 AM
Fellas, I'm not a gunsmith by trade, but I did recently take on the job for a friend of cleaning up a couple of guns he was given that laid only 200 yds. from the Gulf shoreline for 6 wks. before they were brought out.

Amazingly, they're both going to clean up very well, believe it or not! If anyone else is doing something similar, I thought I'd pass on a couple of things I've found, and if anyone else has additional info or recommendations, I'd like to hear them. Maybe someone else will benefit from them too. I'm posting this because this type of cleanup is WAY past the routine cleaning we usually do on guns, and maybe what I've found may help someone else out there. A lot of sentimental favorites have been damaged, and maybe this'll help someone salvage at least a few of them?

First thing I found is that plain ol' liquid hand soap (mine's "Soft Soap" brand, I think it is) is the absolute BEST thing for cleaning out the gross rust that has accumulated. Just pour it on full strength without any water to get the worst of it off, and use hot water only too rinse it and the loosened rust off & out. Repeat until the pits don't have any more rust left in them. Works FAR better than the oil and steel wool that many usually use to brush off light flecks that can appear sometimes. A buddy who's familiar with such things says the fats in the soap (NOT detergent, BTW, which is a whole 'nother set of chemistry) help emulsify and lift the rust. Helps penetrate the porous rust, and maybe the lye (or whatever acid's involved) helps break it up. Combination sure does work better than anything I tried, I can tell you that.