PDA

View Full Version : Questions from France

fusil
01-01-2009, 09:56 AM
Hi guys,
Another few question you might find ridiculous. :groner:

1. Can you use Lee Liquid Alox on NON ‘Micro Band’ bullets?
I’ve read the stuff in the Lee catalogue about ‘Micro Band’ moulds and I’m still not sure. I don’t see why not but I’m new to this so any advice please.

2. Is it a good idea to start with a Lee 6 cavity mould or is that a bit ambitions.

3. Lee Pro 4-20 or Production Pot IV? There’s only €15 ($10) difference in the price, but is one better than the other?

4. I had a conversation with one of the guys at the range, it wasn’t easy as he speaks no English and my French is not excellent. I think he said he uses the same SWC cast boolit for his S&W 38spl as for his Taurus 9mm, without sizing! Is this SAFE?

I know some fella’s might recommend other brands but here in France Lee is a quarter of the price of others.

And on finishing….I have just roughly calculated what my ingot collection is.
After several weekends of smelting between DIY, I reckon on about 140kg/315Lbs of WW ingots and 55kg/124Lbs of pure ingots. I’ve just gotta start making boolits now. [smilie=w:

As always many thanks from this side of the pond.
fusil

opentop
01-01-2009, 10:18 AM
Hi Fusil, and welcome.

1. Yes, you can use Alox on non micro groove bullets.

2. You will have a learing curve with any mold you start with. So starting with a 6 cavity mold should be no problem. I would recomend pre heating to mold before casting. Then start with only one or two cavitys and work your way up as the mold comes up to temp.

3. Get the Lee Pro 4-20, its a better pot.

4. The 38 is .002 biger than a 9mm and is possible.

Nothing wrong with the Lee stuff. It's a lot cheaper than most brands, but is excellent for getting started. I use a lot of Lee stuff my self.

Sounds like you have a good stash of lead, now buy that 6 cavity mold and get to work!

billyb
01-01-2009, 10:21 AM