PDA

View Full Version : Does Jacketed After Cast Really Clean?

JohnH
12-28-2008, 01:16 PM
Lately I've been seeing this recommendation a lot, and I've doubts about it's true effectiveness, I suspect it is one of those cast bullet myths perpetuated by word of mouth and lack of practice. In the early 1990's I did this myself, but never was never convinced it actually worked as well as advertised. I've also read several times that the practice actually has the potential of ironing lead into the pores of the metal. I have a revolver with a very rough barrel throat I'm going to run a test on for my own satisfaction, but I'd like to hear what your actual experience has been as well.

montana_charlie
12-28-2008, 01:44 PM
I have no experience to relate, but I am as skeptical as you...for the same reasons.
CM

runfiverun
12-28-2008, 01:58 PM
i don't do it. i would think a rounded copper edge would iron the lead in not push it out.
i don't think i have ever had enough lead in a bbl that a slight change of size or alloy couldn't get out.
i did a test with lasercast boolits to actually lead up a bll then shot my cast boolits with different lubes to see how many shots of each one it would take to clean the bbl up.
the best way i have found to do this test is with a 45 acp and weigh the bbl before and after each test.

buck1
12-28-2008, 02:01 PM
Gas checked boolits will clean lead out a bit. But chorboy does wonders.

Shiloh
12-28-2008, 03:45 PM
Gas checked boolits will clean lead out a bit. But chorboy does wonders.

The Chore boy would be my approach. For those who haven't tried one in a leaded bored, forcing cones, or cylinders, They work surprisingly well. Just like the other posters, the ironing of lead into the pores of the metal sound like a logical possibility. Something for me not to try. [smilie=b:

Shiloh

Heavy lead
12-28-2008, 03:50 PM