PDA

View Full Version : New Lee Mold 1st casting session

philthephlier
12-21-2008, 09:55 PM
I have been casting bullets on and off for about 30 years and I had never enjoyed success before with Lee Molds. I started reading threads on this forum about a month ago and decided it was time I tried again armed with all the tricks so many of you have discovered over the years. First I spent about 20 minutes with a fine needle file and strong magnification and removed all the burrs on the mold and there were quite a few. Then I boiled the mold in dishwashing detergent and water for about 20 minutes, using an old toothbrush every few minutes while it was in the boiling solution. Then I dried it well and let it cool. It went back in the box for about 2 weeks and today it saw it's first bullet metal after being lightly lubed with Lyman Moly bullet lube and smoking with a butane lighter. 20 lbs. of 20-1 casting alloy quite hot, I don;t have a lead thermometer. I cast 81 bullets and rejected 28 probably being overly critical. I weighed all the bullets that looked good and rejected about 10 for what I felt were low weights. I was casting a 165 grain bullet
for my Lee Enfield and the bullets I kept weighed between 165.8 and 166.7 grains.
I was quite pleased with those results. Should I be with a new mold? Any comments greatly appreciated in advance.

docone31
12-21-2008, 10:34 PM
I have had some sweet castings from new Lee Molds. I have had some molds that were nightmares.
It sounds like it all came together for you.
I tried casting for my Enfield .303, .312 is not enough for me. I had to go out to .314. I got garbage for results at .312, .3135. .314 is my sweet spot.
I ended up paper patching my .303. I love the results that way. I use the same mold, just size it down, and patch it up.