PDA

View Full Version : Ideal / Lyman spruce plate screw for mold

helenajoe
12-28-2005, 04:25 AM
Hi everyone,

I'm looking for the part number or an actual spruce plate screw with 6 fine threads for my vintage Ideal mold #350447 (183 gr .348 Win bullet) that looks like this:

Note: I tried a spruce screw with 6 fine threads like the one pictured above from my 1967 Lyman .243 mold #245497 and it fit my vintage Ideal mold #350447.

I tried ordering the spruce screw with 6 fine threads from Lyman but they kept sending me a spruce screw with 4 course threads that would NOT fit:
Part #2998289 XX-115 cut-off screw
Part #2998292 cut-off screw (for .187 cut-off)
This incorrect spruce screw with 4 course threads looks like this:

If anyone knows what the part number of a sprue screw with 6 fine threads please let me know so I can order one from Lyman. Or if anyone has a sprue screw with 6 fine threads that they'd sell me, please contact me.

This is my first attempt at trying to attach a picture so please bear with me. If the pictures don't appear, I can always email a picture to someone. Any advise on how to post a picture would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks and Happy New Year,
helenajoe
praymond@ipeg.com

Bullshop
12-28-2005, 02:02 PM
You can keep swaping with you other till you find one, so you can use it now. Keep looking at gun shows for an older one that will work. I often find older molds that are abused about beyond use, but are a source for parts. Most often the seller can be convinced he has a limited market for a usless item and it wont cost much.
BIC/BS

BruceB
12-28-2005, 04:34 PM
Also, keep checking at Ebay with a search for "bullet mould" and "bullet mold". Fairly often, I see repair parts for older moulds there.