PDA

View Full Version : Computer cloning question

tommag
11-15-2020, 01:34 PM
I have a laptop with windows 7 pro and linux mint, version 19.3(I think it's 19.3) on it. I use windows to scan documents and don't go online with it.
My daughter has a desktop she no longer uses and is going to give it to me after putting a new hard drive in it.
I'm thinking I can clone the hd in my laptop and put that image on the desktop using clonezilla but I've never done anything like that before.
Does this sound like the way to go?
Thanks in advance.
Tom

flyingmonkey35
11-15-2020, 02:06 PM
Hello Tom

For a simple answer Shmabey.

In theroy it should work. I foresee two issues

The dual OS. With grub bootloader dose not tend to clone its self nicely.

Windows7. Will freak out with new hardware.

In all honesty. I would go for a fresh copy of linux. On the new box.

And just dump windows alltoghter.

Unless you game on it.

Good luck

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

pcolapaddler
11-15-2020, 02:18 PM
Ditto the above in Windows reaction.

Windows 7 will likely not immediately recognize all of the hardware - video, network, etc.

You will probably at least have to spend some time looking for and downloading/installing drivers for windows 7 on the 'new' hardware. Then there is the whole Windows OEM license version thing that may require Windows to be reactivated or whatever the term is.

You may also be able to do a bare metal backup of your Windows partition and then restore it to the desktop pc. This may still require the downloading of drivers and reactivation.

Sent from my Pixel 4a using Tapatalk

tommag
11-15-2020, 02:28 PM
Interesting. I don't like that ms has gone the route of Google in tracking what you do to make me the product. I only use windows for my scanner, so maybe it would be best to look for a scanner printer that works with linux.

dangitgriff
11-15-2020, 04:30 PM