PDA

View Full Version : Throat erosion, firelapping and cast boolits

crabo
12-09-2008, 11:23 PM
I asked a noted cast boolit mold maker about firelapping a rifle to get better cast boolit performance. I am worried about premature throat erosion. Here is what he said about keeping the erosion from happening.

"You don't, but it is minimum if you use cast bullets only, and have the hardness close to 12 bhn. The little throat wear is good for both jacketed and cast, in fact almost mandatory for cast. Maybe you aren't aware of it, but hot cast loads wear the throat as fast as hot jacketed loads. The erosion is from powder, not the bullet, and is least with ball powders. Hot stick powders are worst, with the slowest burning somewhat better but not equal to ball powder."

What do you think about his opinion? I have no experience with cast in rifles other than 357 leverguns.

Thanks,

357maximum
12-10-2008, 12:51 AM
I do know for a fact that large doses of ball powder in a 357max @ 45,000PSI will "MOVE" the throat ever so slowly forward...

.I thought stick powders did this less than ball powders.....now I am confused and will have do go do some reading.

docone31
12-10-2008, 01:02 AM
I used IMR4227 in my .357 Supermag. The top strap used to get flame cut every time I fired it. After a while, it had a noticeable cut. I eventually sold it, but I could see it grow after every match.
I could sure get some flat primers with that load!
I had a couple of small pistol primers mixed in with small magnum primers. Those were flat, and the primer case actually cratered to the firing pin hole on one.
Never had a blow through though.
That was one tough pistol.
Wish Dan Wesson still made it.
Never noticed forcing cone erosion though.

felix
12-10-2008, 01:28 AM