PDA

View Full Version : What is acceptable???

krag35
12-01-2008, 12:23 AM
I bought a Remington 870 "home defender' shotgun in honor of our new president elect. I have put together a "buckshot" load using .311 Round balls that keep 13 out of 15 pellets in an 18' X 24" target at 20 Yds. Is this acceptable?

I have some 7/8 oz Lee key drive slugs ( cast out out "pure lead") Today I tried 38.0 gr of blue dot out of it's 18" cyl bbl. 5 shots stayed inside what i could cover with the palm of my hand at 50 yds. I thought not to bad, for using a bead for a sight, but I have nothing to compare it to. Is this acceptable?

I am just getting into the shotgun thing ( if it's birds, I'm taking my SXS ) I have no baseline to compare my smooth bored slug gun load to. Nor what is expected of a buckshot load.

Any info would be appreciated.

DLCTEX
12-01-2008, 12:47 AM
Acceptable? I'd consider it excellent given the perameters.

DLCTEX
12-01-2008, 12:49 AM
Buffering may tighten the buckshot loads. I cast WW balls for buck.

fallout4x4
12-01-2008, 12:54 AM
I ........ keep 13 out of 15 pellets in an 18' X 24" target at 20 Yds. Is this acceptable?

Thats close enough to the size of a torso to work, sure. The thing I would mention is to measure what your maximum distance is really going to be. For an example, I live in an apartment and 20 feet is pushing the distance and from the front door to the first corner is under 10 feet. (which is where a confrontation is most likely to take place) Whats the spread at (insert your estimate here) going to be?

longbow
12-01-2008, 01:47 AM
Can't say much about the buckshot as I haven't done much with buckshot but your slug load is pretty good. Sounds like you're in the 4" to 6" group size which isn't bad at 50 yards for the first time out with a new load and only a bead front sight.

The best accuracy I have gotten so far with a rifle sighted smoothbore slug barrel on my Browning BPS is 2" at 50 yards.

Longbow

Bill*
12-01-2008, 04:04 PM