PDA

View Full Version : 1st post - now throwing bullets

MKT
11-23-2008, 11:28 PM
I've been reloading for close to 30 years and never have cast my own (not counting the old .454 round ball I did during my college days). I recently decided to join the crowd of those who cast. For my first mold I went with an RCBS 2 cavity for the .41 Mag, a 210 gr SWC.

My pot, dipper and mold arrived Friday, I began rendering down some wheel weights last night after work. Ended up pouring ingots until almost 2am! This morning I started to render down some more and started getting things warmed up. While that was happening I went about cleaning uo my mold blocks and get the mold mounted to the handles.

By the time I was finished with the mold it was time to skim the clips and dross of the melt. I poured another block of ingots and decided I should try my hand at dipper casting. Learned quickly that casting by the dipper is pretty much an art.

I threw about 75 bullets. The first 10 or so weren't bad but not filled out, they went back into the pot. Out of the next 65 or so I kept 60. I need to figure out if I want to continue with the dipper method, and if I do then I need to decide on right v left handed. I threw today's left handed (holding the mold in my right) which might have been part of my miscoordination (is that even a word?).

Anyway, back to my bullets. The mold was for a 210 gr bullet, mine are running about 217.5 gr on average, using straight WW. They threw at a steady .411 and resized to .410 nicely. Shoot, I even got the lubricator set up to get lube in the lobe groove on the first bullet.

We'll see how things go after my Lee drip-o-matic pot arrives one day this coming week. Until then I keep reading prior posts and learning all I can. I noticed that there are several folks here who also hand out at another gun forum I do. Makes it feel like home.

Mike

Le Loup Solitaire
11-23-2008, 11:46 PM