PDA

View Full Version : Pork neckbones & rice

Junior1942
11-21-2008, 05:31 PM
You guys ought to try my simple pork neckbones & rice recipe located here:
http://www.castbullet.com/cooking/neckbone.htm

It's on my stove at this moment. The meat is 1.9 lbs of pork neckbones which cost me $3.20. The other cost is 1 cup of rice and 1 onion + a daub of salt, pepper, and garlic powder. That's it. It's a great winter meal, and you won't believe how easy it is to fix. I've have it for supper tonight with a pone of cornbread and some turnip greens from a can.

NoDakJak
11-22-2008, 07:00 AM
Junior: I have been using your recipe for a couple years now and it is great. Neckbones are hard to come by around this area so I usually substitute hocks or ribs and spice them up a bit with a bit of soy sauce and a stalk or two of celery. I bought my wife a new range and haven't beenable to figure out this "Verdamnt" computerized oven. Any ideas on making cornbread in a Dutch Oven on the stove top? Neil

Junior1942
11-22-2008, 09:58 AM
Neil, if all else fails read the directions!

My momma made cornbread on a stove burner. She had a turn-over pan/pot which worked great. She'd flip it over every minute or two until the cornbread was done. I've never seen another one like it. After momma's death my sister-in-law got the cornbread pan and later sold it at a garage sale. :sad:

MT Gianni
11-23-2008, 01:13 AM
NODAKJACK, the old gas ovens had a 25 degree swing between off and on. You would think with digital the swing would have gotten tighter but it ain't so. Nowadays it's closer to 35-40 degrees. Most you turn on and it jumps to 350 then you adjust it from there but there is no guarantee that the numbers match the temp. Oven thermometers are cheap and provide a meter for a more consistent idea of what is going on inside. Find out when it is 350 inside and keep that setting in mind whether it says 370 or 330 on the dial/electronics. Gianni

Rick N Bama
11-23-2008, 08:02 AM