PDA

View Full Version : Sounds like casting would be interesting

AW738
11-17-2008, 11:04 PM
Hello all. I just found this board yesterday. I've been reloading for several years but I've never loaded any cast. Can someone tell me about cast vs. jacketed. Pros/Cons.

docone31
11-17-2008, 11:17 PM
Welcome, you will like it here. Lots of folks who really try to help.
My best example.
I have a .303 British Enfield. Apparently, their quality control was rather rushed. In my case, rather than .303 bore, it is .304. That gives me .312 groove diameter instead of .311.
Casting allows me to fire the rifle at the range, and instead of laughter, I get folks who want to try it. I can size my castings to fit the bore. Now, I also paper patch both my .303, and my .30s. That allows me to fire cast loads at low jacketed velocities. My .303 smiles real widely at my patched loads. Great groups, low pressure, clean bore.
I do have .312 jacketed bullets for my Smelly. I have not fired them yet. With my paper patched loads, I have already gotten five reloads on my fired cases. That is about max for this rifle and they show no case head seperation at all. Primers are not showing any pressure signs.
That is why I cast. I get great results. I also have something to talk about with some great folks.
In other words, I can tailor my loads for my rifle with much more precision than using available components.
I get to play with molten metal, dies, all manner of things.
With conventional cast loads, I have to load down. I cannot get any reasonable grouping with standard loads. No biggee, I just like the convience of using jacketed loads.
Sizing.
Once I found the correct sizing, I had a tack driver from an otherwise wall hanger. I don't worry about loading the magazine, I single shot my rifle. I take a long time, enjoy it all, and brag when I do well.
Jacketed bullets are getting costly. I have not gotten some in a long time. I have my back up for when I get lazy.