PDA

View Full Version : Digital Scale

Roudy
12-16-2005, 07:37 PM
Just bought this digital scale from Ebay for a little less than $30. Getting tired of fooling with a balance scale trying to weigh boolits and didn't feel like shelling out $100+ for a scale from the reloading suppliers (which are probably better scales).

Has any one had any experience with this type?

imashooter2
12-17-2005, 03:03 PM
I don't have any experience with the scale you have shown, but I don't see any reason it shouldn't work fine for sorting bullets.

John Boy
12-20-2005, 09:45 PM
Roudy, my other eBay 'cheap' digital died after a $15 expense and 2 years of use.

So, I bought the Neva on eBay for $4 and 15 bucks shipping :groner:

I've been using it for about 3 months (along with a Lyman scale pan) and it has been flawless ... to 0.1gr. I use it exclusively for BPRC charges and sorting my cast bullets. I weigh many bullets straight from the mold. Use a can top and tare weight it ... to set the hot bullets on.

I even used the calibration weight to re-calibrate it and that was a waste of time cause it was on the money to begin with.

Caution: Use the scale at room temperature. It doesn't like being cold - like working in the garage.
Regards
John

yammerschooner
12-20-2005, 11:00 PM
Did you happen to see the scales over in the group buy thread on this site? It sounds like he may still be able to hook you up.

http://www.castboolits.gunloads.com/showthread.php?t=3932

Pawpaw
12-25-2005, 10:07 PM
I use a Jennings JS-50X and really like it. I use it to set powder measures, weigh bullets, and most all of my reloading chores that require weighing. I've used it for almost two years now, and the learning curve on using it was a long one. There are a couple of hard-won lessons on using it. I originally wrote it up on Castbullet, here: http://www.castbullet.com/stuff/scale.htm