PDA

View Full Version : Glock barrel leading

Bashby
01-30-2020, 09:11 AM
I’ve been casting boolits for my Polymer 80 with a (Edit to add not a factory Glock barrel like I thought) 9mm barrel. Barrel slugs to .3555. Been sizing to .357 with a Lee push through and powder coating. My lead is range scrap. I guess I need to try a harder alloy. I have some pewter and some Superhard from Rotometals. I’m new to casting and this will be my first time making a new alloy. Looking for advice on how much of what to add and best way to do it... or anything else that I should try.

cwlongshot
01-30-2020, 09:33 AM
I would Look to your powder coat first. I shoot more cast thru my G35 than most folks. Some weeks see near 1000 rounds. All my cast and Powder coated. ZERO FOULING. That’s thru factory and KKM barrels.
Cast softer than most. 10bhn or less. Shooting loss from 800-1200 FPS.

You may need more baking time also are you quenching in water out of oven to cool
Or just air cooling?

One of the best ways to soften a billet is to heat to 400 for 20 minutes and air cool.

CW

Burnt Fingers
01-30-2020, 09:53 AM
It's likely your barrel throat or lack thereof.

sigep1764
01-30-2020, 09:53 AM
Pull a seated boolit from a loaded round. Measure the base diameter. I bet its getting swaged down by the brass case not being opened up enough.

Bashby
01-30-2020, 12:10 PM
I would Look to your powder coat first. I shoot more cast thru my G35 than most folks. Some weeks see near 1000 rounds. All my cast and Powder coated. ZERO FOULING. That’s thru factory and KKM barrels.
Cast softer than most. 10bhn or less. Shooting loss from 800-1200 FPS.

You may need more baking time also are you quenching in water out of oven to cool
Or just air cooling?

One of the best ways to soften a billet is to heat to 400 for 20 minutes and air cool.

CWAir cooling

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Tapatalk

Bashby
01-30-2020, 12:13 PM