PDA

View Full Version : Help in Central Wyoming

pharmpoke
11-14-2008, 11:57 PM
I've been toying with the idea of trying my hand at casting. Is there anyone near Riverton, WY on this board willing to show a fellow poke fan the ins and outs of what appears to be an addicting habit. I have a 2 foot long chunk of linotype from my grandfather's old newspaper office and a big chunk of what I believe to be lead, but before I take the plunge I'd like to see what all it entails. Thanks.

Echo
11-15-2008, 01:30 AM
Welcome to the board, pharmpoke. My suggestion (if there are no casters close) is to read the heck out of all the posts and stickys on this board. There is more knowledge here than I knew existed. I have been reloading and casting for over 40 years, and learn something new every day here. Read, and read some more.

That lino will come in handy alloying stuff for boolits. By itself, it is too hard and brittle. Mixing it with WW's or pure lead will give you very usable alloy.

But READ THE POSTS!

Buckshot
11-15-2008, 04:03 AM
..................Hey pharmpoke, welcome to the board. Getting to be toward winter time up there isn't it? Nothing like a nice warm lead furnace to keep the chill off :-). First suggestion I useually make to a person wanting to test the water is to purchase the Lyman Cast Bullet Manual.

If you ever saw the movie, "The Patriot" with Mel Gibson you saw him doing some casting of RB's at the very most basic level. He was melting those lead soldiers as wheel weights were pretty scarce, what with a war on and everyone shooting lead at each other.

Hopefully you're thinking of starting out casting for a pistol, as those boolits are much easier to cast. They're generally short and wide, and of a simple design. Plus a lot of'em don't require any fooling with gas checks. Mild loads also don't require mush hought about alloys plus thier lube requirements are simple.