PDA

View Full Version : Bonjour from France

fusil
11-14-2008, 01:31 PM
Bonjour from France,
I’m new to reloading and soon to start casting my own 38 SWC’s. I’ve got a sack of wheel weights and other scrap lead; about 200lbs. I’ve got a cast iron pad and a camping stove, so I’m ready to make ingots.:-D
I’ve read ‘The evolution of the wheel weight’ by Hunter Lee Elliott and thought it was superb, full of good advice and easy to follow.
The only question I have is…..Should I buy a hardness tester? I’m just paper punching with my 686, so will the hardness be a big issue?
I will not be casting rifle ammo or for hot loads.
If you think I should buy a ‘tester’ can you tell me why?:confused:
Merci tout l’monde,
fusil

fishhawk
11-14-2008, 01:39 PM
welcome to the group! for your intended use of the WW i wouldn't bother getting a tester myself. you bigger problem will be getting the right size slug so a micrometer might be a good thing. steve k

mooman76
11-14-2008, 01:52 PM
Welcome and I agree with Fishhawk. First off you are just punching paper for pistol with WWs so your hardness is going to stay pretty much the same and pistol is less demanding than a rifle. It is more important to have a proper size bullet. You really only need a hardness tester if you are going to be playing with the alloys so you can adjust to a certain degree of harness and you can get by without them. I don't have one and i shoot rifle and pistol. I just don't push mine that hard.

Shiloh
11-14-2008, 02:13 PM
Paper punching to me, means mild target loads. Thats what I shoot mostly as well as for accuracy. My .38/.357 WC and SWC loads are not finniky about alloy or hardness. Good mold fill out and good boolit bases ar more important.

Shiloh

fusil
11-14-2008, 03:05 PM
Many thanks guy's.[smilie=s:
I'll be ordering my mold this weekend. Lee is the only one you can get in France of the shelf. I'll let you know how I get on.
fusil

AZ-Stew
11-14-2008, 03:56 PM