PDA

View Full Version : Rifle vs. pistol

Lowbudget12
12-28-2019, 08:20 AM
I am very new to the casting obsession, I have been working on bullets for my ruger 44 sbhh. Im getting ready to start on 9mm. I have a remington 700 aacsd in 308. I have developed a couple of hunting rounds for it with jwords. I was wondering how hard would it be to cast a good hunting round for it?

Tatume
12-28-2019, 09:45 AM
Easy. Just get the C309-170-F mold from Lee and a supply of gas checks, and you're off to the races.

https://www.midwayusa.com/product/1010210460?pid=574963

This is a very accurate cast bullet, and is one of the most effective 30 caliber cast hunting bullets.

Hickory
12-28-2019, 10:01 AM
You could ask for people to send you boolits to try, unsized and unlubed of course.

Der Gebirgsjager
12-28-2019, 11:11 AM
For .308 you'll most likely want to use gas checks, so buy a mold for a boolit that accepts them.

robg
12-28-2019, 11:29 AM
Lee boolits work very well in a 308, gascheck tumble lube suitable powder job done.

rintinglen
12-28-2019, 11:39 AM
A 311-041 with a suitable ration of Varget,4895, or WW-748 giving 1800-2000 FPS will kill any whitetail ever bred. There are many, many molds that will do what you want. My favorite is the RCBS 30-180 FN. I have loaded and shot many pounds of them in my 30-30’s.

trapper9260
12-28-2019, 12:04 PM
Here is a post that is about the 308win that might help you

http://castboolits.gunloads.com/showthread.php?387293-Cast-and-the-308-Win

Also here is a list of what Larry Gibson say that will work in the 308 Win,
Molds from Larry Gibson for 308 Win