PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Here

44Magnum
11-10-2008, 01:32 PM
Hello guys. I've been lurking for a while, but thought I'd introduce myself. After a bad initial experience with commercially loaded cast ammunition I thought I'd give cast bullets another try. No, I am not casting my own yet; I am taking baby steps here. Anyway, I purchased some lead bullets (Keith) for my .44 Super Blackhawk and loaded them this weekend. They turned out great!! They shot accurately and didn't lead the barrel. :-D

I'm so impressed, I think I'll have to start casting my own. :drinks:

http://artificialhorizon.files.wordpress.com/2008/11/keithcast.jpg

rugerman1
11-10-2008, 01:45 PM
[smilie=s:Welcome to 45nut's insane asylum!:drinks:
Remember,casting and reloading save you money:coffee: Stop by the chat room in the evenings and say howdy to the inmates

454PB
11-10-2008, 02:34 PM
Welcome aboard!

There are a lot of shooters that had a bad first experience with cast boolits and walked away. I'm glad you gave it another try. Just remember, NOBODY can cast better booolits for YOUR guns than you.

Echo
11-10-2008, 02:36 PM
Welcome, 44Magnum. This board is a treasure trove where very knowledgeable folks share their expertise with others, even Newbies like you and I. I've only been here about 6 mos, but will not miss checking it, every day. But beware.

Casting is addictive! It becomes an end in itself. It doesn't supplant shooting, just adds another activity to help the shooting effort! And it is really great to look at that boolit you created yourself, and say "I made that'.

StrawHat
11-10-2008, 03:12 PM
Hi 44 Magnum,

This is just like all those other meeting places where they say "Hi" when you show up and our hobby is just as addicting.

This has to be the most informative sight just from the sheer numbers of knowledgable reloaders that post here.

Enjoy yourself and don't be afraid to ask questions.

cobbmtmac
11-10-2008, 03:37 PM
44 Magnum, Welcome Aboard! :coffee: