PDA

View Full Version : How to make a paper patched bullet mold

John Boy
11-06-2008, 03:27 PM
http://www.lasc.us/Brennan_4-4_PaperPatchedBullets.htm
Scroll down to the title ... and make sure you read the other PP information as your scrolling!

scrapcan
11-06-2008, 05:59 PM
The article is by our very own Molly.

longbow
11-06-2008, 08:28 PM
I have been making moulds like this for many years and they work quite well. When I made the first one I thought I had invented something but Ideal was making them about 100 + years ago! I guess I was late... again.

Nonetheless as Molly says they can be very useful and are not difficult to make with modest equipment. Also, they can be used for both paper patched boolits and full bore boolits. For full bore boolits, lubing can be done by grease cookie under boolits in straight sided cartridges, they can be knurled then lubed or they can be shot dry over COW filler. I have had success all 3 ways.

Another benefit is that by changing the nose form, different shapes and weights can be made and a pin can easily be added to make a hollow point.

Longbow

357maximum
11-06-2008, 08:56 PM
longbow

where are the pics......gratuitous or otherwise?

longbow
11-07-2008, 02:18 AM
357maximum:

Scroll down to post #9:

http://castboolits.gunloads.com/showthread.php?t=18991&highlight=longbow

Longbow

leftiye
11-07-2008, 02:08 PM