PDA

View Full Version : Who am I, where am I, and what the heck am I doing wrong?

tommag
12-12-2005, 08:34 PM
I finally tried to cast my first bullets and had some problems. I got the Lyman kit with the mini mag pot and a NEI mold with two different 6.5 cavities. My shop is cold (35 degrees) and I could only get my melt up to 700 degrees. The temp fell after I started casting to about 650. I finally got my mold hot enough to get frosted bullets, but still had wrinkles. They had small flanges at the circumference of the base, so I tightened the sprue cutter until it no longer swung freely, still got flanges. :confused: I'm using ww with about 4% tin added and a little shot as well.
This is my first attempt at rifle bullets, but while casting .72 round ball with pb, I didn't have the wrinkling problems with a lyman mold.
My main interest in casting is the idea self sufficiency (after the apocalypse, ha ha) I doubt I'll ever shoot enough to recoup the costs of all this stuff, but I wanted to try it.

David R
12-12-2005, 08:42 PM
Tommag,

Welcome to the casting world. It can be addictive. Some say I am obsessed.

I think your mold needs a good cleaning.

I clean mine with Shop Sove by Wellworth or Shopkleen by castile. You can also use Brake Cleaner and a toothbrush. I clean mine when new, then pour a few, clean again while warm, then pour a few then smoke the cavities with a butane lighter. Works for me every time.

I think if the boolits are frosted then you do have enough heat.

David

buck1
12-12-2005, 08:46 PM
You may want to clean your mold well., and check for a lead smear on the top of the blocks and under the sprue plate. FWIW ....Buck

Bullshop
12-12-2005, 10:33 PM
Tommag
Dont tighten that sprue plat too much. It should be able to swing of its own weight. Sinch it down too tight and you can quickly and easily damage a hot aluminum mold. Them NEI molds are too nice to go and do that to one. Now promis ya will so I can relax and help you.