PDA

View Full Version : Comparison of small primers

megasupermagnum
10-10-2019, 01:27 PM
I've often seen comparisons of brisance for large rifle and large pistol primers. What I can't find is a similar test of small primers. In particular, I am curious of a comparison between the Federal 200 and Federal 205.

JBinMN
10-10-2019, 02:06 PM
If I am not mistaken, the Fed #200 Small Pistol Magnum Primers(SPMP) are for cartridges that run up to 40,000 PSI & the #205 Small RIFLE Primers(SRP) are run up to 55,000 PSI.

I might infer from that info that the 205 is burning "hotter" than the 200.

Being that the one is SPMP & the other is SRP, I am wondering if you intend on using one to replace the other?

I have heard of folks doing that , but I have no experience in doing so as I understand it is not recommended. Of course, doing so is up to the individual.

I would be interested if someone can offer some better info myself, just out of curiosity.

Anyway... I don't know if that helps but I took a shot at helping out.

JimB..
10-10-2019, 02:56 PM
I've often seen comparisons of brisance for large rifle and large pistol primers. What I can't find is a similar test of small primers. In particular, I am curious of a comparison between the Federal 200 and Federal 205.

I haven’t ever seen a comparison of LPP’s to LRP’s but would like to see it if you have a link.

DHDeal
10-10-2019, 03:01 PM
There was a good in depth write up years back by German Salazar about Small Rifle primers. I don't know if you will be able to find it though. He was a competitive rifle shooter.

Some primers I use as interchangeably if necessary. An example would be CCI SPM and CCI SR primers. Lots of info about them being the same on the web. Nonetheless, I do check safety before I load too many.

I am using this particular example out of either Ruger Blackhawks or FA83's so strength of the firearm is NOT in question.

megasupermagnum
10-10-2019, 06:20 PM
Here are a couple sources for large primers.