PDA

View Full Version : Lack of cleaning/lubing info in manuals- Rant

mjwcaster
09-24-2019, 09:45 AM
Why do many manufacturers not include cleaning/lubing info in their manuals any more.

I am an instructor and we heavily push reading the manuals for your firearms.

But more and more I find manuals with the instructions ‘clean and lube’

That’s it.

28 page manual, 12 pages of warnings and no info on how to clean or what to lube.

Oh sure, nice info on taking it apart, but what do you do then?

Many of our students are new or inexperienced gun owners.

And even for experienced owners I have guns that the recommended lubing ranges from none at all to rails and barrel hood to 15 different spots to lube.

Just read the manual for a students new Taurus TX22 (cool gun) and no cleaning/lubing info.

And even major American manufactures, same story on my Ruger LCP II.

I guess it doesn’t matter, cleaning and lubing isn’t that important anyway, right.

Ok, rant over, for now.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Handloader109
09-24-2019, 10:07 AM
Some do.... My Spectrum didn't (guess Taurus just means you to put a drop here and there.....
My Walther PPQ had detailed info.
My CZ scorpion, pictures with what to use, but all are foreign oils.... (even recommended Ballistol in a couple of spots)
My Ruger precision 22 had detailed instructions....
But they ALL have more warnings than usable good information.
Lawyers...... Shakespeare was right.

mjwcaster
09-24-2019, 10:13 AM
I can’t argue with the warnings, I just wish they had useable info.

I have seen enough dangerous gun handling, heard of enough negligent discharges ( luckily never been present) to be ok with warnings.

I run a 2 day concealed carry class (16hr required in Illinois)
And I brand it as a firearms safety class with a touch of marksmanship and legal.

Yes we cover everything we can and teach students to shoot, but the only thing that is really important is firearms safety.