PDA

View Full Version : Crap...I put the wrong primers in

Stopsign32v
07-24-2019, 02:21 PM
Well I loaded up all of my 50-70 cases with 4.0cc of FFG black powder and put my 500gr on top. Everything looks good and pretty but it dawned on me today to call Starline...

Yesterday I looked at the brass before I started loading them and they appeared to be large pistol. (guys bear with me, I'm new to reloading 50-70 and finding any type of information isn't near as easy as 45 Colt or 45-70)

I loaded a large pistol primer and noticed it sat a good bit deeper than usual so I found that to be odd. I placed it in my Sharps to see if it would pop and it did with a loud pop and sparks out the end, so I thought everything was fine and loaded up my rounds.

Today I called Starline because I was curious and when I asked I was told they use large RIFLE primers. Crap...

So should I disassemble them, loose some black powder, have to re-pan lube, and reload? Or will they work with large pistol primers?

Outpost75
07-24-2019, 02:27 PM
Black powder pressure should not be a problem so far as puncturing the pistol primers.

Depending upon the driven protrusion of your Sharp's firing pin, the thinner primer cup and deep-seated primer might result in a pinhole leak at the firing pin indent, due to a ductile fracture mechanism. The weaker pistol primer might also result in erratic ignition and velocity if the charge is not well settled and compressed, which could affect accuracy.

I would try just a few shots. Examine the fired cases carefully. If there is no apparent primer cup puncture or gas leakage around the primer, go ahead and try shooting them up. But if anything doesn't look right, it is safer to pull them.

07-24-2019, 02:32 PM
What Outpost75 said.

Stopsign32v
07-24-2019, 02:33 PM
I did a measurement of compression of the loads and I would say the 4.0cc FFG will be about 3/16 or a little more of compression.

am44mag
07-24-2019, 02:44 PM