PDA

View Full Version : Keep Getting Wrinkles. Help Appreciated.

Z.F.Bowles
07-21-2019, 05:14 PM
So I'm still new to this. Had Accurate molds made up for my 8mm Mausers closer to the .318 groove. Cleaned the mold with brake cleaner twice. No luck casting. Probably cast more than 50 Boolits and every single one has wrinkles. Alloy is stick on weights already hand sorted and melted down with a turkey fryer. Cast into ingots. Positive there's no zinc. Just wanted to test the mold and figure it out on reclaimed lead rather than spending the cash on rotometals. Soon as I get the hang of it I will get harder alloy from them. Ingots were melted down in my Lee 4-20. Have a PID set at 750*F, Lyman digital thermometer read same. Even pre heated the mold. I just don't understand the problem. I think I'm moving along at a decent pace, too.

redhawk0
07-21-2019, 05:20 PM
You might want to try adding a little tin. SOWW are almost pure lead. The tin helps fill out the mold. A good source is Tin solder or pewter. 2-4% Tin is a good thing.

redhawk

Wheelguns 1961
07-21-2019, 05:23 PM
I would guess that you didn’t get your mold hot enough, or it still has some oil in it.

tmanbuckhunter
07-21-2019, 05:38 PM
Oil in the mold, not enough tin, mold not hot enough. One or any combination of the 3.

sigep1764
07-21-2019, 05:54 PM
Some of those cleaners contain an oil in them. Scrub the mold down with dish detergent, Dawn or similar. Should clear right up.

jcren
07-21-2019, 06:19 PM