PDA

View Full Version : Any issues going back and forth between cast,and jacketed?

Elroy
07-06-2019, 11:18 AM
I have no experience in the field of cast bullets,but Texas by God gave me a variety of some for my 30-30.I already have some jacketed 170s loaded up with different charge weights to test in a couple days,and I thought about slapping together a few of the cast as well.Will I need to start out on a freshly brushed barrel when switching to cast,or vice versa?..I have been looking at some old data for cast, and 4064 is probably what I will charge them with,because I don't have 3031 on hand. The data I am looking at seems to favor loads of 23-24 gr. 4064 for most weights of bullets from 115-180.Does this seem light?.All the bullets that Tex sent me have gas checks and fall into these weights..Thanks

redhawk0
07-06-2019, 11:31 AM
Yep...my load data shows 23gr for 185gr....and 24.5gr for 140gr. For your 115s you should be ok at 25.5gr of that IMR4064.

Your always a bit lighter in powder weight for cast...and your velocity will be a bit lower. However, if its the right lead alloy your cast will expand as well as a jacketed bullet of the same weight at higher velocity.

redhawk

Elroy
07-06-2019, 12:36 PM
Thanks.Redhawk.

stubshaft
07-06-2019, 12:41 PM
You shouldn't have a problem going from cast to J words, but should clean out ALL traces of copper fouling when going the other way.

Elroy
07-06-2019, 12:44 PM
Thanks Stub.,So I guess I should clean my gun,and start with the cast,and finish with jacketed.

MostlyLeverGuns
07-06-2019, 01:40 PM