PDA

View Full Version : Wrapping the bullet

billsr
10-24-2008, 09:14 AM
I'm new to paper patching and have a question. I am shooting a .40-65 with a .400 diameter paper patch bullet. I have the template to make the patch and after wrapping the bullet, my diameter is only .406 or maybe .405 at times. Bore diameter is .400, groove is .407. Could I lengthen the patch so as to get 3 wraps on the bullet to increase diameter or should I use a thicker paper. I am using the onionskin paper from Buffalo Arms and it measures approx. 2.5 thousandths.

45 2.1
10-24-2008, 10:02 AM
I'm new to paper patching and have a question. I am shooting a .40-65 with a .400 diameter paper patch bullet. I have the template to make the patch and after wrapping the bullet, my diameter is only .406 or maybe .405 at times. Bore diameter is .400, groove is .407. Could I lengthen the patch so as to get 3 wraps on the bullet to increase diameter or should I use a thicker paper. I am using the onionskin paper from Buffalo Arms and it measures approx. 2.5 thousandths.

You would be better off useing thicker paper instead of three wraps. Your paper thickness versus your added diameter doesn't add up though. Usually it works out to be 4 x paper thickness -0.001" for diameter gain. 9 Lb. onionskin is usually 0.002" thick also and follows this formula quite well from 25 caliber thru 50 caliber.

wonderwolf
10-24-2008, 10:05 AM
You can patch to groove diameter or you can patch to bore diameter. I'm guessing with what your trying to do you are wanting to patch for groove diameter. Take the paper you are using and fold it three times and measure the thickness you get with that and add that to your bullet diameter this will give you a good idea what you would end up with if you used 3 wraps...not exact but a good idea. You won't hurt anything with 3 wraps of paper I've done it and it works but things can get tricky with a longer patch.