PDA

View Full Version : What's the most stupid thing you did casting/reloading that you won't do again!

Rustynails
05-20-2019, 03:45 PM
Okay, no politically correct concerns when I say... "There are stupid questions and actions, but we should all learn from them.

I am still new to casting and reloading...just on my first 4k rounds of casting bullets and reloaded ammo. My first and only stupid mistake, thus far, was to keep an open ingot container near my reloading bench. Somehow a live primer fell into the old coffee can full on ingots. I was starting to cast some 45 acp and I placed the last ingot from the coffee can into my melting pot and then proceeded to dump all the scrap bullets into the pot. BAM! Lead went flying!

I got just a few specks on my shirt, but most went on the table and around the lead melting pot. I had gloves and glasses on and was wearing a short sleeve shirt. I was lucky it didn't get on any of my skin.

Am I the only one out there that has done something so stupid? Lesson learnt!

So, anyone else do anything stupid that they want to admit to? Maybe your comments will help me not melt my skin away or blow myself up in the future.

Taterhead
05-20-2019, 04:00 PM
Glad it wasn't worse. That must have bumped the heart rate!

Mistake: Buying gear twice by trying to get by with the cheap stuff initially.

Obtaining a supply of estate sale reloads thinking I'd pull down for components. False economy! The guy who reloaded the ammo so severely crimped the bullets that they were useless mushroom profiles. That's when I was first clued into the fact that excessive taper crimp ruins neck tension.

3leggedturtle
05-20-2019, 04:31 PM