PDA

View Full Version : Do you seat gas checks below the case neck? Is this safe?

weeple2000
04-29-2019, 12:03 PM
I have heard mixed things about where to seat gas checks. Looking for a consensus.

Edit - please vote in the poll

Tom W.
04-29-2019, 12:30 PM
If they are crimped on nice and tight there should be no trouble with them. At least I haven't had any......

weeple2000
04-29-2019, 12:36 PM
Thanks for the input. I just started shooting cast rifle. So far I have been erring on the side of caution. Hoping there is a consensus on this one.

ShooterAZ
04-29-2019, 12:52 PM
While I think it's best to not seat them below the neck, with some short necked calibers it's not really feasible (think 300 Savage or 300 Win Mag). Just make sure they are crimped on well as mentioned, and you should be fine. I've not had any problems either, but I don't really like to have the lubed portion of the boolit below the neck.

Texas by God
04-29-2019, 12:55 PM
Never had a problem with .300 Savage or .308 when doing this.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G930A using Tapatalk

weeple2000
04-29-2019, 12:56 PM
Do you mean lubed portion of the bullet?

ShooterAZ
04-29-2019, 01:03 PM
Yes, that's what I meant...:killingpc

Bazoo
04-29-2019, 01:21 PM
If your using Hornady gas checks or other crimp on checks, then you should not have any trouble provided the checks are seated well prior to sizing. I put the check on, then hold the bullet and tap the check with my hammer handle to seat it all the way. The check gets a nice firm crimp this way.

I haven't experimented with the old Lyman style checks yet but all I've read says you're not supposed to seat them below the case neck. I've also seen where folks glue those checks on with superglue or epoxy. I can't say how it works as I've not tried it yet. I have shot some bullets with the old checks though and didn't experience any problems. I didn't seat them below the case neck though.

weeple2000
04-29-2019, 01:33 PM