PDA

View Full Version : liquid buffer for shotguns.

vinny1892
04-13-2019, 02:17 PM
Hi im wondering if anyone has tried creating their own liquid buffer for shotgun shells. Ive been loading skeet loads for a few years and am looking into loading hotter loads for coyote and turkey.They dont make the duplex load i used to load so I wanted to create it. thanks

Johnch
04-13-2019, 04:27 PM
Interesting
I have never thought of a liquid buffer

I load buffered loads , steel shot , Lead shot and Hevi Shot loads

But I sort of have a couple of problems with a liquid buffer
1 is a chance for the liquid to get past the wad into the powder and mess it up
2 is the liquid getting past the crimp and exiting the shell

3 is the big problem .... I seem to remember reading several different times that a liquid when subjected to a external force
Will act like a solid for a time
As I got to shoot a "Bullet Proof " vest that had a layer of some sort of liquid in it , the vest was flexable till a bullet hit it and then turned hard to help stop the bullet
So I wonder if a liquid buffer would also act as a solid ?

When the gun was fired ... maybe not a big deal
But when the shot and liquid buffer hit the choke ??
Then I could maybe see a BIG Problem , as if the Liquid Buffer acted as a solid
It IMO could cause a split barrel or a ruined choke tube , as the "Solid" of the mix of shot and buffer hit the choke

I have seen several split shotgun barrels while duck and goose hunting
From "Magic" Goose hunting loads , designed to help goose hunting loads hold a better pattern at LONG Range

I do load buffered loads for both Coyote and Turkey LOL
The Coyote loads use a Home cast 4 buck using water dropped pellets out of a Lee Mold
A pretty cheap , but effective way to get long range loads

The Turkey loads are not cheap , but work
That is because I still load Buffered Hevi Shot loads
3" - 1 3/8 or 3" - 1 1/2 oz #6 & #4 Hevi Shot loads pattern