PDA

View Full Version : Newbie with an oldie.

Rustyjunk73
02-25-2019, 05:12 AM
Hi all. I recently picked up an early Marlin 1894 Carbine chambered in .44-40. While I've loaded for this cartridge in the past, it was for a modern rifle with a .429" bore.
This one was made just after WW-I and has a rather snug bore. My bore slug came out measuring .425" at the grooves and .418" for the bore itself. I have not produced a chamber cast to see what the throat has to say.

Just going off the slug info, I'm wanting to look at starting with a .427" boolit. Does that sound like a logical decision?

I'm thinking a "typical" 200gr flat nose will be fine, as the Carbine will be used for enjoyment... ringing steel and busting water jugs out to 900 yards (I know, I know... but the Carbine's ladder sight says I can! Lol).

Ok. Now with all that being said, I'm about to ruffle some feathers. While I've been reloading since 1989 and have loaded cast boolits in most of my guns for years, I do NOT cast my own. Nothing against it, it's just nothing I ever set myself up to do.
My normal boolit supplier retired last year, so now I'm looking for a good boolit source.

If any of you folks had to buy your boolits... who / where would you buy them from?

Guesser
02-25-2019, 09:54 AM
There is a myriad of good bullet casters. Here in Montana 2 seem to cover the broadest spectrum and both will cast to your specs as to hardness and diameter in any of their designs. Montana Bullet Works and Rim Rock Bullets. Both companies are very good and give a good product at a reasonable price. Google their names.

WHITETAIL
02-25-2019, 10:00 AM
:Drusty, nice new to you gun.
Welcome to the forum.
And good luck with it.

RED BEAR
02-25-2019, 10:35 AM
Looks darn nice i just love the older guns.

Rustyjunk73
02-26-2019, 03:28 AM