PDA

View Full Version : Anyone ever reload the Winchester Service Grade Ammo - SG45W Brass

Rustynails
02-14-2019, 08:00 AM
I'm new to reloading 45 acp., (and reloading in general). I have some old 45 acp. brass from India, Brazil, South Korea and the USA. I also bought some range "once fired" brass, PMC, RP, Federal, and Winchester. I had some problems reloading this, (see post in the "What did you do in the reloading room today"), I saw this Winchester Service Ammo SG45W for sale for $233/1000 with free shipping and thought it would make for a good source of reloading brass. (I searched this forum and did not see anything on it.) This way I don't have some Large primers and some small primers to worry about. I just want to make sure that this brass is good quality for reloading. Does it have large primers or small? What is the head stamp? Can it be reloaded over and over or is it cheap brass that's not worth it. I am using an RCBS 45-230 bullet mold with wheel weights as my lead source. I'm getting an average 232.4 grain bullet and have 600 waiting patiently to be loaded. I can shoot the Winchester Service ammo and have a constant source of brass, (for a while). Does this sound like a good plan, or should I continue with the range brass, buy new brass, or try another "cheap" ammo brand.

toallmy
02-14-2019, 08:50 AM
I load all 45acp brass as long as it is ( brass ) not aluminum . Take a little time and separate the different head stamps before you start loading so you can take a good look at them . Also a good idea to start out loading your homemade ammo a few at a time for testing .

Wayne Smith
02-14-2019, 08:56 AM
Don't know that brass but USG stuff does have to meet some minimal criteria. I use range pick up simply because its free and I clean all brass after use and separate by headstamp when sorting prior to loading. I have in excess of 1000 rounds and basically stopped picking it up.

Rustynails
02-14-2019, 09:07 AM