PDA

View Full Version : Question about water quenching wheel weights

whisler
02-04-2019, 01:36 PM
I have started using the pencil hardness method for checking my alloy since determining that my 9 mm needs about 13 BHN alloy to avoid leading, at least with my powder of choice. I was a paint chemist and am quite familiar with how the test is performed as it is a common test in that industry.

I decided to water quench some wheel weights to use, and sized withing 24 hours through a Lee sizer die, since I had read that they will harden quickly and become hard to size. After 1 week, 2 weeks, and 3 weeks the boolits were only checking 13 BHN. I thought this was strange since I knew the alloy was wheel weights because I processed them about 2 months before. I chalked it up to use of recycled lead for wheel weights and wasn't too concerned because I only needed 13 BHN any way.

About 3 weeks later, I checked the boolits again and they now check 20 BHN. I didn't think it took 6 weeks for water quenched hardness to kick in. I got the hardness that I expected but in 6 weeks not a matter of days. Anyone have any idea what's going on here?

Edit to add: These were all clip-on wheel weights and were water quenched from the mold. Pot temperature was approximately 725 deg.

tazman
02-04-2019, 05:56 PM
With most lead alloys that will harden, you don't get the maximum hardness until some time later. It usually takes between 10 days and two weeks.
A lot depends on the specific alloy and wheelweights are notorious for varying alloy.
There is a sticky on the site that discusses this.

whisler
02-04-2019, 09:00 PM
Thanks Tazman

243winxb
02-05-2019, 12:53 AM
The higher the percent of antimony , the faster bullets harden.

Mold to water , not as good as oven to water.

hockeynick39
02-08-2019, 09:15 AM
Exactly 243winxb! I use a little oven for my rifle boolits and PCing certain other boolits. Works perfectly and I don't have to worry about any water getting into the casting pot!!!!!!!