PDA

View Full Version : Hopelessly confused.......

tjndaltx
10-05-2008, 09:05 PM
Hello guys,

I'm brand new to casting, my pot is still in the box. I'm spending a lot of time reading and studying.

I've purchased several new molds from Lee, RCBS, and Lyman and I am totally amazed that the molds that I bought from Lee.....I can't find any load data for them. I have the 47th and 48th edition of the Lyman Reloading, I also have the latest edition of Lee's book, Modern Reloading. Why would someone make a mold if there's no load data?

Am I stupid? Looking in the wrong place?

For instance, I've heard one can't use jacketed bullet data for cast bullets even if they're the same weight. Is this true? Then how does one know how to start making up a load and what powder to use?

Is there some "PLACE" that has load data for cast bullets?

I really appreciate any help.

45nut
10-05-2008, 09:14 PM
Hello guys,

I'm brand new to casting, my pot is still in the box. I'm spending a lot of time reading and studying.

I've purchased several new molds from Lee, RCBS, and Lyman and I am totally amazed that the molds that I bought from Lee.....I can't find any load data for them. I have the 47th and 48th edition of the Lyman Reloading, I also have the latest edition of Lee's book, Modern Reloading. Why would someone make a mold if there's no load data?

Am I stupid? Looking in the wrong place?

For instance, I've heard one can't use jacketed bullet data for cast bullets even if they're the same weight. Is this true? Then how does one know how to start making up a load and what powder to use?

Is there some "PLACE" that has load data for cast bullets?

I really appreciate any help.

Cough, cough,, b-s. If there is no data published I always go to jacketed start loads and work my way through.

454PB
10-05-2008, 09:18 PM