PDA

View Full Version : Question about new smelting pot

docslester
09-10-2018, 11:36 AM
Good morning all. Long time lurker/member, with a question I hope the community can help me with. Hunted and read to no avail. I have been casting on and off for 20+ years but never had a dedicated "smelting" setup. I've acquired a cast iron propane burner setup and ingot molds. My pot is a new Lodge four quart cast iron pot. My question is, it's pre-seasoned, do I need to try to strip it, de-grease it, or just start melting? Any help would be appreciated.

JonB_in_Glencoe
09-10-2018, 12:00 PM
I use a Stainless steel soup pot (4 qt). I found one that is thick SS at a thrift store of $1.

It's a shame to use a NEW Lodge cast iron pot for smelting...but that's your choice and money.
To answer your question...Seasoning, doesn't matter... just start melting.

Also, after you use a pot for Lead, don't ever use it for Food.

Grmps
09-10-2018, 12:14 PM
↑↑↑ A heavy steel pot is best. Castiron can crack and aluminum can melt (I have pictures somewhere :shock:)

I always flux with BOTH sawdust and wax. I found that sawdust or wax alone just didn't do as good/complete a job

country gent
09-10-2018, 12:47 PM
Harbor freight has cutch ovens and cast iron pots occasionally pretty reasonable. Lodge is a top name right now. A cut off propane cylinder, steel pot, or cast iron pot is go able and safe. I will give my opinions on each below.

1) Cut down propane tank
Can be larger capacity up to around 350-400lbs
large dia making ladling easier and allows a larger ladle to be used
concave bottom so ladling the lead out is easier
built right a larger base for stability will get into this below

2) Steel or stainless steel cooking pots.
Nice dia for ladling
handles for moving but they may not be up to task if any amount of lead is in it
Usually have a lid with them to cover pot
Flat bottom so decent foot print for stability, but harder to ladle down to empty