PDA

View Full Version : mold fillout

hiram
09-20-2008, 12:13 PM
Casting ww at 750 deg. Using the group buy 150 gn, 30 cal gc mold, 1 wide lube groove and 3 crimp grooves. The cavities have been polished with toothpaste and the mold was boiled with dish soap. Using Lee 10# bottom pour pot. Some bullets had incomplete fillout. I noticed the stream of lead was smaller than the hole in the sprue plate. Would ladle pouring, which offers a larger stream to the sprue hole help???

Down South
09-20-2008, 12:51 PM
I'm not an expert but I'd say you need more heat. Either the mould or melt or both is not hot enough.

oso
09-20-2008, 01:47 PM
Boiled in dish soap or detergent? I use dish detergent and a final rinse of isopropyl alcohol. Did you smoke the mold with a butane lighter?

mooman76
09-20-2008, 02:01 PM
I am assuming it is a 6x being a gb. A 10# pot may not be big enough. You need the heat cranked all the way for a 6x and with a 10# pot by the time you just start to crank out good bullets you will run out of lead.

hiram
09-20-2008, 02:11 PM
The melt was 750---checked with a thermocouple. the mold was not smoked. I can crank the heat to 775 or 800---My pot will get that high. Sometimes there was a slight frosting in the crimp grooves. I did not rinse with alcohol.

44man
09-20-2008, 02:18 PM
Check the bottom spout for crud. It only takes a small chunk to stop getting nice boolits.
Switch to the ladle and get away from the problems! [smilie=1:

hiram
09-20-2008, 02:28 PM
I'll check the spout.

MakeMineA10mm
09-20-2008, 02:30 PM
Boiled in dish soap or detergent? I use dish detergent and a final rinse of isopropyl alcohol. Did you smoke the mold with a butane lighter?

Agreed. You want no residue in there from the cleaning. (Isopropyl Alcohol is a good idea - hadn't thought of that one...) A lot of guys use brake cleaner because it's cheap and so available.