PDA

View Full Version : Sunflowers & Doves

lightman
07-16-2018, 02:28 PM
As some of you know, I have been hosting a Dove Hunt for several years. In earlier years we legally baited with Wheat but have been planting Sunflowers for the last few years. I sprayed for weeds a few weeks ago and fertilized them last week. I just got back from checking on them. The weeds are mostly gone and the plants are heading out. We caught a nice rain last night, that we badly needed. I'm a little later than normal, as I had to wait for a planter to come available. Anyway, I'll post some pictures afterwhile. I know a few of you guys Dove Hunt so tell us about your fields!

richhodg66
07-16-2018, 02:48 PM
I never have dove hunted really and want to this year. The public land I hunt on usually has a lot of them when I'm out during muzzle loader season, and there are usually fields of milo planted. I have a few corners I could sit in and wait for them.

One problem is we're required to use non lead shot. I bought four boxes of steel #7s in 12 gauge which ought to be good. I need to get out and pattern the gun with some of them.

I sure wouldn't mind any pointers from you experienced guys.

Tom W.
07-16-2018, 03:10 PM
My experience is that if I hit a dove it was going to die that day anyway.......

Hogtamer
07-16-2018, 03:34 PM