PDA

View Full Version : Throat size and cb for .44

dkonrai
07-13-2018, 01:02 PM
Noob here. Been reading alot about cb.
My 629 throat is .429. So do I need a 429 or 430 mould?
Powder is 231, 296, blue dot.
Thinking 240 grain or so.
I will powder coat.

So thoughts? Will the 430 chamber?

O, and Dillon 550, either rcbs roll crimp or Redding taper crimp?

Sent from my LG-TP450 using Tapatalk

mdi
07-13-2018, 01:13 PM
An S&W 629 throats should be larger than .429". Mine run a hair under .431". I size the bullets for the throat diameter, .431", and its a good fit for the .429" groove diameter of the barrel. Most of my 44 molds, with my alloy drop bullets around .431"-.432".

For a new caster, I'd suggest a "Keith" SWC running between 240-250 grains, roll crimped, and start with plain lube, alox, 45-45-10, panlube, etc.. Easier learning curve just learning two simple methods; casting and lubing (which have been done for many, many years).

dkonrai
07-13-2018, 02:40 PM
Got it. I checked with a cheap hf digital. It checks out when I use the 1.00 and 2.00 checks so I'm sure its pretty close.
Guess i really need to shove a sinker down the throat and see.
How does one mearure the chamber? Stupid question, but, my hammer doesnt fit in the frame [emoji2].
What crimp dies are you using so not tobsquish the cb?
An S&W 629 throats should be larger than .429". Mine run a hair under .431". I size the bullets for the throat diameter, .431", and its a good fit for the .429" groove diameter of the barrel. Most of my 44 molds, with my alloy drop bullets around .431"-.432".

For a new caster, I'd suggest a "Keith" SWC running between 240-250 grains, roll crimped, and start with plain lube, alox, 45-45-10, panlube, etc.. Easier learning curve just learning two simple methods; casting and lubing (which have been done for many, many years).

mdi
07-13-2018, 03:36 PM