PDA

View Full Version : is .360 too big?

Oldbrowngun
06-13-2018, 09:55 PM
hi i am fairly new to this stuff. lee claims the factory crimp die and with lee allox you dont need to resize. i have been shooting my cast boolits with 6 grns of unique in my 357 magnum. this load has been gicing superb accuracy with no leading. i just mic'd my boolits today and they are measuring at .360 after being ran through the factory crimp die. my question is , is this boolit too oversized to be shot safely? i am using water quenched wheel,weight alloy.

sigep1764
06-13-2018, 10:01 PM
How does the barrel look? Are the primers flattened or rounded? If they push through your cylinder with just light resistance, id say you were good to go.

Oldbrowngun
06-13-2018, 10:06 PM
ive tried to check the primers but its hard to tell my winchester primers look so flat becore being shot. barrel looks fine as far as i can tell and bullets drop in freely on most some drop 3/4 in freely then take a very slight push

Jayhawkhuntclub
06-13-2018, 10:10 PM
I wouldn't worry about diameter. Might consider backing off the powder a touch though. Especially, if you see any high pressure signs.

Oldbrowngun
06-13-2018, 10:11 PM
https://imgur.com/a/F9wcSj0

a collection of spent primers next to unfired. the primers were shot from 2 different smith and wesson 686's.222070222071

Outpost75
06-13-2018, 10:56 PM
Accurate cast bullet loads shot from.modern guns are safe.

jugulater
06-13-2018, 11:15 PM
That fired shell doesnt show any signs of excessive flattening. if the rounds chamber with out resistance you should be fine.

I think you should slug the barrel just to see what it measures, it will probably be spot-on standard, but it is possible that you have a oversized Bore/Groove diameter.

If accuracy is good,no leading, and the primers all look like that fired shell, id say you are safe.

tazman
06-13-2018, 11:52 PM