PDA

View Full Version : Cleaning

100yrdopenchamp
06-07-2018, 08:06 AM
How often do you clean,does accuracy drops off,just started casting last week.

w5pv
06-07-2018, 08:40 AM
Use Ben's Red and after a few hundred rounds you will have that Carnuba Shine and will have to clean the chamber every so often,there will be nothing in the barrel to clean
God Bless

jcren
06-07-2018, 09:54 AM
Fit and lube are king to answer that. I powder coat and have guns that haven't been cleaned other than wiping off soot and lubing lightly in longer than I can remember. PC won't lead if the barrel is smooth and you have a good fit, and won't leave jacket metal or lube residue behind. Like w5pv said, a quality lube will also "season" a barrel and prevent buildup. So assuming a smooth, broken in barrel, cast usually means less cleaning once you get it right.

Hawks Feather
06-07-2018, 11:05 AM
Years ago when I started shooting cast bullets in my revolver I ended up with large amounts of lead in the barrel and if I didn't clean every few hundred shots I had all kinds of problems. I finally started asking questions from other people who shot cast and ended up with a load that didn't lead like my earlier loads. Now I am shooting powder coated and there isn't any lead at all in the barrel.

mdi
06-07-2018, 11:31 AM
My cast boolit ammo doesn't lead much any more (fit, lube primary concerns). But, I clean my guns after every use, regardless of how much I shoot them. I often take several guns to the "range" but one of my favorites is my 44 Magnum Puma. I can run 100+ 265 gr. cast bullet rounds through it quite easily, (until recoil starts to sting :wink:). My 38s with cast bullet loads sometimes get up to 150-160 rounds in one session, but all get cleaned when I get home...

brewer12345
06-07-2018, 12:03 PM