PDA

View Full Version : Cratered Primers

GregLaROCHE
05-10-2018, 04:45 AM
I am new to cast boolits. Not to reloading, but to trying to find an exact proven load for a given round and boolit weight. To check if I overloaded I should look for cratered primers. What do they look like? Any pictures available?

And while I have you on the line, are there any pictures of barrel leading.

PS: Does anyone remember when Pres. Reagan called a guy in the hospital to wish him well and he said “Mr President, while I have you on the line, what about that tax return I have had coming for years” or something like that?

Retumbo
05-10-2018, 06:25 AM
Primer is not always a good indicator of over pressure.

These primers ate flattened, not by excessive pressure but excessive headspace.

sparkyv
05-10-2018, 07:26 AM
Primer is not always a good indicator of over pressure.

Best to start with some known, acceptable pressure rounds, and compare your loads to those. Usually, factory ammo is a good reference to start with.

BK7saum
05-10-2018, 08:43 AM
Rifle or pistol? If you are looking at cratered primers in a rifle to check if overloaded, you are probably well beyond an acceptable pressure where accuracy is good.

In pistols, I have found looking at primers to be unacceptable regarding pressures.

Just use reliable data and work up your loads to get acceptable accuracy.

Ballistics in Scotland
05-10-2018, 09:32 AM