PDA

View Full Version : Safety Wire Pliers

metricmonkeywrench
05-09-2018, 12:20 PM
In another thread a conversation popped up about identification and use of Safety Wire Pliers, so to avoid hijacking the OP’s excellent thread I have opted to start a new topic. Many have seen different fasteners over the years that include thru holes in the wrench head or nuts and other fasteners that have holes drilled thru the wrenching flats and wondered what they were for. Safety wire is predominantly found in the aircraft world where fastener retention is a paramount concern and shows up in racing and some high vibration commercial applications. The conversation mentioned really revolves around the tool. Though I am not a leading expert in the technology and engineering behind when and where safety wire is needed, I have definite experience on ground vehicles while in the military I am sure some of the aircraft oriented members will chime in.
The description and use is well covered in Wikipedia and there are U-tube videos so I won’t spend time going over it here.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Safety_wire