PDA

View Full Version : I met a member today

Tom W.
04-14-2018, 09:56 PM
I met a member today at the Russell County Sheriff department shooting range. It seems that they have the range open to the public free of charge from 0900 to 1300 the 2nd Saturday of the month. 50target is a RO there. Lori and I went there and did a bit of shooting. The range is great, clean and above all, safe. I was ( and have been since my chemo) having difficulty hitting things I was pointing at, usually hitting low & left. Bob watched me for a few minutes and suggested that I hold a bit differently, and noticed that I was "dipping" my pistol just before I shot. I can't say that I'm new to shooting, but the neuropathy sure hasn't helped my shooting any. I made a conscious effort to do as recommended and things went uphill from there! There were some steel plate targets that I was not hitting as I should, but after a bit of coaching, six shots, six targets down. I've never shot steel before. It was a hoot!
My LC9s Pro shot very well, and I found out that my CZ does not like cast boolits sized to .358. It would fire maybe four and jam. The little Ruger gobbled them up like they were candy. The loads that I had sized to .357 fired great in the CZ, so I'm changing out my sizing die in my LAM II to .357. The Ruger won't care. I still have about 500 rounds sized larger that I will feed the Ruger, and keep the smaller ones separate until I get them all fired.

I was asked to bring my SRH next time and see if we can hit some reactive targets @ 100 yds. Suits me. I need to shoot it a bit more anyway....
All in all we had a great time, and a pleasurable one meeting a member here!

jmort
04-14-2018, 10:47 PM
Love my LC9s Pros
They run real good
Zero FTF or FTE, ever
Accurate to boot
That would be cool to run into a fellow member at a range
Small world

nagantguy
04-14-2018, 11:35 PM