PDA

View Full Version : Casting questions

Outback32
03-24-2018, 06:29 PM
Hey guys I'm new to casting. I ordered 2 Lee 6 cavity molds. 357 and 44mag the 44mag works great the 357 I noticed small black specs in the cavity and I can't get them out at all. Also was wondering if anyone makes custom Lee sizing dies. I need a .432 does anyone make them thanks

Rcmaveric
03-24-2018, 06:56 PM
Lee will make you custom sizing dies, but it has a long wait time. If the offer one that's larger but really close, it its pretty easy to open it up a little .001-.002. Worst case scenario check out NOEs push through sizers; the die body is slightly more expensive than a Lee, but NOE has the bushings that you can swap out that makes it cheaper in the muli-caliber long run.

For those black specs, i would cast with it. If the bullets drop good and pass the visual then i would not sweat the black specs.

Outer Rondacker
03-24-2018, 08:14 PM
Welcome to the forum. Cast on do not let some little black spot stand in your way. Unless it affects the bullets coming out that is.

Grmps
03-24-2018, 08:22 PM
Outback32 - welcome to CB If you decided to start casting to save money, forget it. You won't, you'll just shoot more.

+1 on NOE
http://noebulletmolds.com/NV/index.php?cPath=104

Check with NOE, after the initial Push Through Size Die Body purchase ($39.95) the sizing die body bushings are $9.75 and the push rod $7.50 (that can be used with all bushings in the caliber. They have a much greater selection of sizes and theyu also have nose sizing dies
44Cal .432 Body Bushing (B432) $9.75

Casting boolits (lead bullets) properly is a science, once you know the basics, not a hard science.