PDA

View Full Version : ideal temp to operate an iron mould?

glockfan
02-01-2018, 11:17 AM
since i'm new to bullet casting, some questions arise in my mind. this one being one of them ,and it looks like crucial to me .

i know that , when the mould isn't hot enough it gives frosted peas, while i'm not sure what is happening when the mold is too hot and how both extremes affect the boolits in performance-integrity.

what would be the best temp to operate a 4 cavities 9mm iron mold,and how do you keep track of the mould's temp ,or better, how do you keep your mould at the right temperature during a stopage in the casting session ?

i want to thanks those of you who are offering some valuable answers.

i'm not joking when i tell you guys that i'm learning the ropes of boolit casting through the infos i'm collecting over this very,very informative forum.

ShooterAZ
02-01-2018, 11:42 AM
Each mold I own is a different animal. Your boolits will tell you if your mold/alloy is too hot OR too cold. I keep a log book for keeping track of this kind of stuff like what alloy was used and what the mold temp was. I generally start out at 725* with the pot temp and adjust casting cadence and/or pot temp from there. If you cast at a fast rate, your mold will get hotter and you may need to slow down a tad.

Calamity Jake
02-01-2018, 12:12 PM
since i'm new to bullet casting, some questions arise in my mind. this one being one of them ,and it looks like crucial to me .

i know that , when the mould isn't hot enough it gives frosted peas, while i'm not sure what is happening when the mold is too hot and how both extremes affect the boolits in performance-integrity.

what would be the best temp to operate a 4 cavities 9mm iron mold,and how do you keep track of the mould's temp ,or better, how do you keep your mould at the right temperature during a stopage in the casting session ?