PDA

View Full Version : at war with gophers

GOPHER SLAYER
08-27-2008, 01:14 AM
Hello fellow casters.Since I am new to these parts I Thought I would tell you a few things about myself. I live in Cherry valley ,Ca.I shoot at Inland Fish & Game with such fine folks as Buckshot and Jon K.I am 73 yrs. young and have been casting bullets since I was in my mid 20s.First with round ball then cartrige.I am currently loading black powder. Jon K sold me a hi-wall in 38-55 and thru in a hundred rounds of his loaded ammo.I started shooting in the buffalo match and did very well as long as the ammo lasted.I have been out of the money since I have started loading myself.Black powder is a pain to load. I don't like reloading at the best of times.I do it because I can't get Jon to load for me.I am constantly telling everyone in ear shot that all I want to do is pull the trigger.If I ever hit the lotto I am going to get me a sla---ah make that a hired man and have him do all such mundane tasks.If he doesn't do a good job I will cut back on his bread and water.I chose the name Gopher Slayer because I am at war with the little vermin.I live on 2& 1/2 acres and there must be hundreds living here with me.They are one of the lowest forms of life.I firmly believe they were liberal anti gun politicions in a former life and now they are condemed to live underground and away from all the joys of this world. I have come to the conclusion that the best way to rid the world of thes pests is with a garden hose hooked to the exaust of my old pick-up.

Jon K
08-27-2008, 02:04 AM
Welcome aboard Glen.

Lots of good floks and good info here. You'll ge a lot of good tips, and maybe have a new outlook on casting & loading. I enjoy the casting and load development as much as the shooting, you get a real sense of accomplishment from the whole process.

Hope to get out to the range next week. I've been busy with the doctor, x-rays, and will see the Orthopedic surgeon Friday.

Jon

Meatco1