PDA

View Full Version : Noobie question.

mellonhead
08-21-2008, 08:59 PM
I'm new to casting, and have only cast about 100 or so 357 and 45 caliber bullets. Both of these are out of LEE molds. They fill nice and come out of the mold looking beutiful. When I try to Cast for my 475 I can't seem to get the cavity to fill good. This is a RCBS mold. I cast about 40 400 grain .475 bullets tonight and only got about 3 good ones. What am I doing wrong?

Toby

docone31
08-21-2008, 09:00 PM
Need to really heat the mold.

runfiverun
08-21-2008, 09:04 PM
clean the oil outta it some brake cleaner and a rag. then do it again.
then warm it up and try different filling techniques.
like a ladle and a fast pour.

454PB
08-21-2008, 10:25 PM
Yup, those Lee aluminum moulds will spoil you. If you learn to cast with them, it takes some time to adjust to the heavier steel moulds. Preheat the steel mould (I use a propane torch) and run the melt temperature up about 100 degrees.

dardascastbullets
08-21-2008, 10:40 PM
I'm new to casting, and have only cast about 100 or so 357 and 45 caliber bullets. Both of these are out of LEE molds. They fill nice and come out of the mold looking beutiful. When I try to Cast for my 475 I can't seem to get the cavity to fill good. This is a RCBS mold. I cast about 40 400 grain .475 bullets tonight and only got about 3 good ones. What am I doing wrong?

Toby

1) Aluminum moulds are extremely forgiving in terms of alloy makeup, whereas cast iron moulds are not. You may have an alloy that will cast good bullets in the aluminum mould but will not cooperate in the cast iron mould.

2) You didn't indicate if the RCBS mould was new or used. If new, then follow the posted advice using brake cleaner and follow up with a #2 pencil.