PDA

View Full Version : Maybe I suck less than I thought I did. (POA/POI findings)

adam_mac84
10-01-2017, 06:46 PM
So, this summer, I have mostly sworn off any factory ammo. I had gone exclusively to reloads of plated ammo last season, but shot factory in competitions. This spring, I started shooting cast boolits in training and plated in matches. And my last match, I did switch fully to lead.

Needless to say, 2017 I didn't have much factory ammo in my life [smilie=p: I have been so caught up this year in eliminating the lead that nearly everything I shoot have been test loads of some form, until I landed on a decent minor PF load with 231 and Titegroup that seemed decent.

Long story short, I have been beating myself up on some accuracy issues (pulling everything left), and today while shooting some B8 targets at 25 yards, I did shoot a couple with some cheapo 115gr Amscore that I picked up for like $8.50 a box to have on hand for others to shoot if they accompany me to the range.

Low and behold, I was able to actually keep things centered.

All of my cast rounds were going left. I also did a test where I aimed at the 4 oclock position with cast rounds. They found the center. Rode the right side of the rear sight with the post (POA at the X)... ended up centered. So everything needed to be compensated for being slightly left of POA. I of course blamed my trigger pull, and have been dry firing like mad the last few weeks, and thinking I was doing a pretty good job in the basement, but not having it translate to the range.

Until I shot the B8 with factory. Centered POA, Centered impact. And a good score from 15 yards (for me).

Pic in next post (I have to attach on my phone.)

Normal for a cast round to have a POI lateral to the POA? I don't mind much about up/down... that can be made up for easily enough with holdovers... but I am not a huge fan of Kentucky windage

adam_mac84
10-01-2017, 06:48 PM