PDA

View Full Version : melting old grimy bullets.

Don1357
09-25-2017, 12:42 PM
Hello all, new guy here.

I'm just getting started on this. I picked a huge lot of stuff off Craigslist (more 38/357/30 carbine/45 ACP brass that I'll ever need, plus all sorts of oddballs). The crown jewel of the lot is the Lee Loadmaster which I'm in the process of YouTubing how to set it up.

I didn't get lead :'(. Got probably a pound or two of old cast bullets. They are all sorts of grimy, lubbed, and in some cases really crusted. Can I just melt them, skim off the crust, and cast away? This would be for practice and paper punching at low pressures.

GRid.1569
09-25-2017, 12:46 PM
Just watch out for old lube igniting when it get to flashpoint.... some folks recommend boiling off the lube in a container of water and letting it solidify on top when cool.... then let the unlubed bullets dry before trying to melt.

runfiverun
09-25-2017, 01:17 PM
melt it down and light the lube on fire.
stir everything while it burns.
skim off the gunk and cast away.

Bookworm
09-25-2017, 01:22 PM
Yep, that old lube is the reductant, the grime and grease on the boolits is the flux. Like R5R sez, melt it, light it, stir, scrape, cast.

sutherpride59
09-25-2017, 01:24 PM
Nope melt the pot and let it burn! I melted about 20lbs of old 45-70 boolits my father in law gave me, they were crusty and nasty. As long as you start them all off in the pot when you turn it on90% of the lube will burn off in smoke before it flashes but I went a head and threw a match in mine so it would burn and not smoke out the neighborhood. If you have to worry about the flames then you are casting somewhere that you shouldn't be and need to reconsider your casting location, I cast in the garage with a fireproof aluminum range hood that I built that reduced my lead levels from 11mcg to 3mcg over the course of a year.